Snow Shoe Walking in Feldberg

Freiburger Münster

Freiburger Münster

I’m just now getting over my jetlag which makes me very happy. Now I can properly enjoy my stay here in Freiburg. It’s amazing here. I live near the forest and can see pine trees from out my window. I had my first big adventure of my trip today. IES, my program, took us to Feldberg to go snow shoe walking. At first when I heard we were going I didn’t think it would be too grueling a walk, but it was 3 hours mostly uphill on fresh snow. The first half of the hike was very warm. Most of us ended up taking off our coats.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then we stopped to eat at a remote restaurant that gets all its food delivered by snowmobile. I had the most delicious soup and sausage and for desert there was a cheese cake topped with apricots.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

When we finished eating it started to get darker and foggier. At some points we had trouble seeing (and so naturally I didn’t photograph those moments).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And this is probably my favorite photograph from the excursion. I highly recommend a visit to this place:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

