Easter Break Freiburg Study Abroad

On Saturday night I went to the Holy Saturday mass at the church closest to my dorm. I hadn’t gone there yet because I had been going downtown to the Münster for mass, but I enjoyed the mass. There were a lot of adorable children with big candles that their parents had bought them. I didn’t really notice many differences between Holy Saturday in Germany and America other than the service was shorter and the candle lighting faster (gotta love that German efficiency).

On Sunday I went to Titisee, a black forest lake nearby, to go to their relatively new indoor waterpark, Badeparadies. It was awesome! They had a pool with waterjets that had a revolving door leading outside. You paid for food, locked and unlocked your personal locker and gained access to the various parts of the park all with a wrist band they gave you at the door. I was a little confused at first as to how people were paying for drinks at the poolside bar without money until I realized our wrist bands worked for that purpose.

Titisee is a beautiful town (even though it is very touristy):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday I went to Basel, Switzerland for a day. It was really beautiful but for some reason overwhelming. I didn’t think it would look and feel so different from Freiburg even though it was so close. Also, I understood about zero German that anyone was trying to speak to me the whole day. Swiss German is bizarre.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I’m not quite sure where I’m going for the rest of my break yet, but I’m glad I decided to make day trips near Freiburg instead of planning out a huge trip. There’s lots to see in the region.

5 thoughts on “Easter Break Freiburg Study Abroad

  1. What a lovely, lovely post! I’ve always wanted to go to Freiburg! My boyfriend is from Stuttgart and I’ve been living on and off between Cairo and Berlin for the past 3 years (originally from Tennessee though). Your photos really made me want to bus over to see this lovely city! Enjoy your time there are if you are ever in Berlin please let me know. 🙂 I’m looking forward to more of your posts! Hope to see you on blog sometime, Charms of a Gypsy. http://charmsofagypsy.com/2015/04/07/no-such-thing-as-flawless/

    Best wishes from Berlin!
    Whitney

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I was actually in Berlin a couple of weeks ago. I’m originally from West Virginia so I’ve been to Tennessee before. Freiburg is a great city. I’m glad you liked the photos 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • You’re welcome Adri! That is so cool that you’re from West Virgina, what a small world we’re living in, right? Looks like I’ll have to make my way to Freiburg then. 🙂 If you’re back in Berlin, let me know! Also, if you haven’t already, you should go to Bamberg (my boyfriend studied his master’s there), Regensburg, and Rothenburg…they are also beautiful!

        Like

Leave a Reply

