Olympus OMD EM5 II Camera Review

Over Thanksgiving Break I was able to get an incredible deal on an Olympus Omd Em5 Mark ii camera. I’ve been looking to switch to the OMD line for a while now. I loved my Olympus Pen Lite 5 Camera and hadn’t owned it for all that long, but because it didn’t have dedicated controls for ISO, Exposure Compensation, Aperture, Shutter Speed, and White Balance I felt I had outgrown my Pen Camera. I was hesitant to make the switch because I had been using a few different models from the Pen line since 2011 when I bought my first camera. I sold my Olympus Pen camera now and have no regrets. To learn more about my personal history with taking photos you can check out my previous post: My Personal History with Photography: From Point and Shoot and beyond.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are some basic specifications for the Olympus Omd EM5 MII (taken from Cameradecision.com )

Olympus E-M5 II Key Specs

 

  • Announcement Date: 2015-02-06
  • 16MP – Four Thirds CMOS Sensor
  • ISO 100 – 25600
  • Micro Four Thirds Mount
  • Sensor-shift Image Stabilization
  • 3″ Fully Articulated Screen
  • 2360k dot Electronic viewfinder
  • 10.0 fps continuous shooting
  • 1920 x 1080 video resolution
  • Built-in Wireless
  • 469g. 124 x 85 x 45 mm
  • Weather Sealed Body

(Stock Photo from PCWorld.com)

The LCD screen swivels out like a camcorder and the touchscreen is even more responsive than the one on my Olympus Pen Camera. I haven’t tried out the camera in the rain yet, but if I did, it’s great that the LCD screen can be turned inwards towards the camera body for extra protection against harsh weather elements. I purchased the 12-50 mm weatherproofed lens to go with my camera body so I’m very excited that rain and snow are no longer limitations for my future photographic endeavors. The 12-50 mm lens works brilliantly and even has a macro button for extra stabilization on close up shots.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I love the degree of control I have over my photos with this camera. The dials have a smooth but firm feel when operated. Best of all is this camera’s Electronic Viewfinder. I never used to enjoy using viewfinders, but I love the one on this camera so much. You can see everything you could see on the LCD screen and I feel like sometimes the view from the viewfinder looks more real than real life due to the high screen resolution. There is absolutely no lag. I don’t know how they did that but Olympus is amazing and this is why I love them.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of this camera’s big strengths is its stabilization system which renders clear, sharp shots even in lower light. I’ve been told that supposedly that, in this department, a four/thirds sensor will never be able to match an APS-C or Full Framed Sensor, but to be perfectly honest I am already blown away by the EM5 II’s performance in low light and don’t really need much better performance in low light.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We were taking down wallpaper in the bathroom and I just thought the torn edges looked artsy.

I can’t wait to take this camera on trips and hiking adventures. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Goodnight Beautiful Hills

Till Next Time,

Adri

Follow me on instagram: @colormeadri

Leave a Reply

