Olympus 12mm F/2 Lens Review

Hello Internet. Long time no see. Today I wanted to discuss the subject of prime lenses, more specifically the Olympus 12mm F/2 lens (24mm Full Frame Equivalent). A few months ago I decided the best investment I could make to grow in my photography would be to try out prime lenses (single focal length lenses). I became paralyzed with the choices available. I knew I loved landscape and architecture photography, but at the same time I also had been taking a lot of close up photos of plant life. After much deliberation and also finding a sale on a refurbished 12mm lens I decided to try out this semi wide angle focal length as my first prime lens.

First impression: Amazing clarity, insane focusing speed, dreamy color rendition.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Second impression: I am spending a lot of time squatting and contorting in weird angles just to get close to things. I was so frustrated after a while with this limitation that I switched back to my zoom. Still I ended up going back to the prime lens for all the aforementioned strengths it has. It’s okay to miss a few shots every now and then. I had on the 12mm on a walk when we saw some deer. They were closer than deer normally allow you to be but because I had on just the 12mm there was no way to get a decent photograph of the deer family before us.

However, if I would have just had my zoom lens on me I wouldn’t have gotten a great photo because it was dark outside at the time and the aperture on my zoom wouldn’t have been wide enough. This scenario made me realize I should invest in a 25mm prime lens. They’re more affordable and a bit more versatile for everyday snapshots. I’ve been loving the first shots I’ve gotten with it but sometimes I miss the wide field of view from the 12mm. Thankfully for me there’s no need to choose. Both lenses are small enough to carry with me on my adventures, and for times when I don’t have the patience or I’m on a trip there’s always my handy dandy zoom lens.

Love ❤

Color Me Adri

Leave a Reply

