Olympus 25mm F/1.8 Review

The Olympus 25mm F/1.8 is my second acquisition in my quest to upgrade from my camera’s kit lens. I was nervous before it came in the mail last week because even though everyone swears by the so called “nifty fifty” lens as a classic and economical focal length, a staple to any photographer’s kit, I felt it was a very narrow focal length to use as a walk-around lens. Perhaps I should have gone with the 17mm? , I thought.

P4270041.JPG

I was wrong. This lens is amazing. No, it will not give you the panorama view of my other prime lens, the 12mm F/2. It will however give you consistently beautiful and creamy bokeh with very minimal distortion.

P4270028.JPG

If you need a lens for close-ups and casual snaps of things you want to remember or if you are looking for a versatile portrait lens, look no further. Of course the new Olympus 25mm F/1.2 has just come out. Its mystical image quality is so good that the reviewer Steve Huff has said he’s sold off some Leica gear to purchase it, so that tells you something. That lens is retailing for over $1000 right now which is more than I paid for my camera body. For those that aren’t professionals that’s a huge investment. Also the F/1.2 lens is enormous due to its wide aperture and weather sealing. I’d say if you did portraiture often, you live in a very rainy place like Seattle, or if you know that you’d only use the 25mm lens in your work, spring for the Pro lens. If not the Olympus 25mm F/1.8 is a more than adequate consolation prize.

Love,

Adri ❤

Leave a Reply

